top of page
  • vrh

To Begin Anew

I believe that honesty is the best policy. So, I'm going to start out being honest here-- I started the account for this blog site months ago. I opened the account in. . . February, I think. I'm mildly ashamed of myself. However, there is nothing to be done about my tardiness other than move forward. Writing is not a new hobby for me, but it is one that has remained more or less dormant in my life for the past two years. I've written a few short pieces here and there, but nothing detailed or overly inspired. At the beginning of the year, I made it a goal to start writing again with a measure of focus. I revisited my old blog sites and felt disconnected from them. An unfortunate feeling that leads to the decision to begin all over again. Beginning this new venture is like waking up after a nap, with small stages leading up to the moment where I force myself to get up. If that sounds a little bit harsh and less than enthusiastic, well, that's not how I intend it. Because now that I'm up and going, it feels good. There is a deeply embedded sense of satisfaction, even as I am currently writing this. I don't know where this project is going ultimately. But I'm thrilled with how I'm starting, and with the fact that I have begun.

Sometimes it is necessary to begin anew, and that's okay. I'm not abandoning my old writings altogether. I'm going to save them and work on editing them before posting them here. But I'm a different person today, and I am shaping different goals for myself than what I originally had. A change in perspective deserves a new outlet, so I'm giving myself one. I'm giving myself permission to begin anew.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page